Skyline ClevelandThe Northern Ohio Chapter was officially chartered on December 7, 1987 by Richard Palmer, Regional Vice President of the North Central Division of IFMA.

Organization of the Chapter began in the Spring of 1984 when Todd Anderson of (then) Sohio, Barbara Bachman of Eaton Corporation and John Fawcett of TRW met for lunch at Stouffer’s Top of the Town restaurant on the 38th floor of 100 Erieview Tower. At that time, there were only five or six members listed in the area. These individuals spent the better part of three years bringing facilities professionals into the organization that became the Northern Ohio Chapter.

The original officer for the Chapter were: Todd Anderson (Sohio/BP), President; Tony Peskar (National City Bank), Vice President; Judy Misek (TRW), Treasurer; and Maggie Wetzel (Wyse Advertising), Secretary. The first year boasted a membership of 42 members.

Through the years, the Chapter has shown steady growth. The Chapter now numbers in excess of 150 strong, including six of the original 42 members. The Chapter has become a significant representative of the facilities professional in Northern Ohio and is recognized as the premier association. When the Chapter hosted its first golf outing in 1992, forty-some participants showed up. Today, the Chapter consistently fills the limit of more than 160 participants and has waiting lists. The Chapter has “adopted” more than one local project as a community service where the membership contributes goods and services to needy organizations.

Click to see line of leadership and past presidents